top of page

Editing with Intent


"It starts becoming art, when it stops becoming arbitrary." Pat Pattison, Berkeley University.

We all know that relationships between authors and editors can be fraught. Inexperienced editors tread the minefield of author egos on a regular basis. As both a published author and an experienced editor, I have seen the world from both sides now (cue Joni Mitchell). I don't profess to know it all, but I have learned a thing or two about navigating this stormy sea to achieve your desired results as an editor.

1. Intention is everything

As in any form of communication, it is easy to judge others by their actions and ourselves by our intentions. When you dig around a bit and ask the right questions, you soon get to the bottom of what the author intended. When you are deep in a manuscript as an author, it is easy to lose track of your original intentions. Editor questions that search out intention are great for aligning the work with the original idea and designing principle, as well as any guidelines or publishing requirements. In my experience, asking questions such as, ''Was is your intention to forfeit punctuation in the second stanza for chaotic effect?" remind the author of their original purpose. If you start with a baseline assumption that they intended to write that way, it gives them the benefit of the doubt and also improves their process, because it helps them to be more intentional. It really is a win-win approach.

2. Check your intentions

On the other side of the conversation we find the editor's intentions. It pays to check in with yourself every so often and ask, "Why does this line bother me?" Is my intention still to help the author to strengthen the work as much as possible and give your author the tools to hone their own craft by asking the right questions? If the answer is no, it might pay to re-think your agenda or tweak your approach. I would never presume to know better than an author. They are the creator and/or artist of their own work. I am not there to offer value judgements. I am a bridge between the author and the publisher. Satisfying both parties through communicating intention is the bedrock of this negotiation.

Once I realised the value of understanding intention in creating written works, I improved my diplomacy skills immensely and found inroads of trust with my clients. For me, this fits with my philosophy of editing as a coaching conversation. Building trust is so vital for any editing relationship. Starting with intention is one of the best possible starting points.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page